Boosting Your Memory: Tips That Really Work

Boosting Your Memory: Tips That Really Work

Memory loss or impairment does not have to be something that you have to accept. Memory is something that you can take positive steps to improve. There are many things you can do to increase your cognitive ability. The tips in my blog should give you some good ideas.

Play games that were designed for challenging your brain. These offer a fun way you can improve your memory. This concept is much like the way athletes exercise to keep their muscles in shape. Regular brain stimulation helps it improve on essential skills like concentration and memory. Good memory games are crossword puzzles, brain teasers or puzzles, and word searches.


It this happens to you, it’s a good idea to take a little hourly break of five-to-fifteen minutes during your study sessions. This will relax your mind and improve your productivity. Your brain will be able to retain new information more easily after a break.


Using mnemonic devices is an excellent strategy for improving your ability to retain new information for a longer period of time. Mnemonic devices used for memory is similar to writers using shorthand. When you correlate a word with a certain piece of knowledge, you have a roadmap for your memory.


There is a ton of information you should learn and keep in mind, and it will help you study at a lot of different places. This prevents you from associating the information with one particular setting, which helps to instill it more deeply within you. By studying the material in various locations, it starts to become part of your long term memory.


Get a solid, consistent amount of sleep each night. You may not know it, but the amount of sleep that you get can play a large role in your ability to retain information. If you are tired, you are going to have trouble remembering things. To assist your memory, you should consider sleeping more at night.


You can improve your memory while studying if you change the environment that surrounds you while you are studying. Changing your surroundings helps renew your enthusiasm and energy for learning. It also helps your memory work better. Your brain will wake up if it senses a change in its usual routine. This can make it easier to learn new information.


One good way to keep your mind limber is to stay active within your social circles. This will help keep your mind alert and focused, and your spirits lifted. Your brain cells will not get stimulated when you are feeling lonely or depressed. However, if you engage in interesting conversation with others, your mind will remain sharp, as will your memory.


Exercising on a regular basis will assist in improving your memory. Exercising each day can help you out immensely with your efforts.


A good way to seal in memories is to teach others about them. For instance, if you have trouble recalling a story about swimming with your grandchild, try telling more people about it. This will help create more pathways in your brain, and help you remember the event in the future.


Never try to cram information. Spend several short study sessions learning the information you must remember. It’s best not to try and learn everything at once. The causes your brain to overload, and you will tend to forget much of what you learned quickly. Develop routine study sessions so your brain gets in the habit of learning and remembering.


Do not doubt yourself. A common myth is that memory becomes poor as people age. This does not have to always be true. Thinking that your memory is declining can actually make your memory start to decline! Others may tell you you’re forgetful, but question their intentions and don’t listen to them! Simply believing that you have a good memory can help it stay that way.


If you find that you are having difficulty remembering information imparted to you from someone else, try putting it into your own words. It’s very difficult for individuals to memorize any words that they don’t really understand.


To better your mental performance and to remember information that you need, eat brain food. Eat plenty of healthy fats to encourage healthy brain functioning. Avoid unhealthy trans fats, and include some delicious walnuts, fresh fish, and olives to your meals.


If you struggle to remember a new person’s name, you should try associating it with a person who has the same name. You can even make this association with a famous person or celebrity. Making a connection with a new face with a name that’s familiar to you will help you remember this person the next time that you see him or her.


You don’t just have to accept that your memory is failing. Take the advice in my blog to heart; hopefully, it will be beneficial for you.



Lots of love,

Christy Toledo

Please Consider Donating To My GoFundMe –
Author: Official Website of Christy Toledo

My accident happened on February 5th, 2012 after my bartending shift at the Blue Martini in Orlando, FL late one night. I was driving on my way to a friend’s house in Tampa, FL who I was temporarily staying with at the time. I was told that my car veered off the interstate and flipped five times, my body was found 50 feet from it. I’ve tried very hard to discover how my body made it that distance from the car, and who found me, but I still don’t know. The accident report didn’t say much. I received a phone call from a sergeant eventually who told me I was airlifted to Orlando Regional Medical Center unconscious when my trach and feeding tube were implanted, but they didn’t expect me to make it. I was in a coma for five to six weeks after my car accident. I woke up with a traumatic brain injury, liver laceration, lung confusion, subluxation to my neck, amnesia, epilepsy, a fractured lumbar spine, and a fractured pelvis with pins implanted. The pins were removed a few months later. Talk about a painful surgery. Healing is an ongoing process, but for me there are some specific things that have helped along the way: Keeping track of everything to care for my daily hygiene. Listing these things with a dry erase marker on my bathroom mirror used to help. Recognizing what I’m not supposed to say. Deciding what TO SAY, what NOT TO SAY, and WHEN to say WHAT. Isn’t easy to do and I still haven’t mastered it. There are things I’m supposed to talk only to certain people about, and some things I should keep to myself. When I’m being upfront and honest with someone, I can’t assume whatever I’m saying or doing is right, just because in my head, being truthful is “the way I’m supposed to be”. Believe it or not, oddly enough, that isn’t always the case! Learning how to RECOGNIZE which is which is vital. Don’t believe what everyone says. Do your own research. Discover your own truth. Know who I can talk to with the confidence that I'll be given honest feedback from them. What prescriptions must I take daily, how many times a day, how many pills in each dosage, and how to stay on a schedule with my doctors so I don’t run out of my medications. How to keep myself on track. I try and find simple ways to include all things I need to do, my appointments, yoga classes, homework, social life, fitness, etc. Figuring out the most effective ways that can progressively help manage my pain. A therapist is a must have. Someone I can tell everything to and have it kept confidential. I must constantly fight hard to make each of my days better. That’s the way it is. Accept it, don’t give up, and keep going. YouTube and the Word synonym tool are necessities I can’t live without. Keep the alcohol to a MINIMUM. If any, but not drinking AT ALL is the best-case scenario-by a long shot. I’ve been working on how to stop talking out loud as much while being overwhelmingly passionate about things. For me, moving forward is about resilience. Why? I’ve learned that being resilient to words people say about, to, and against me have subconsciously built up an ulterior strength within me. This strength is like a shield that gives me the power to just keep going. To be resilient means to keep moving forward despite having the odds stacked against me. Just to keep it moving and continue giving my all every single day, gripping onto the hope it’ll all make perfect sense at some point. How the next day and the day after that aren’t going to feel the same. Resilience has aided me in finding somewhere I can fit in, and enjoy what I’m doing. Also, being resilient in my situation has created the ability for me to have a positive impact on others. I'm not depressed anymore. I’m quite happy with myself at this point. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have a long list of goals I’m going to achieve, or die trying. Haha, that’s the fight in me talking out loud. Resilience has abetted me in accepting the new Christy you could say. Vinyasa yoga has helped improve my pain and flexibility a lot. I’m sure my sanity too. I haven’t tried much meditation yet, but I plan to, although I tried a breathing exercise on Kevin’s Instagram last night and loved it! I want to get good at it. I don’t know why, but when I start feeling fatigued or when I just want to write my mind on paper, sitting by the ocean really helps calm me. I think I’m a bit hyperactive, but I’ve noticed when I wake up and go straight to the gym, get on the treadmill at 3.4 speed and just go for an hour. It really helps motivate me about my day and somehow makes it easier for me to fall asleep when I hop into bed. I also take part in Vinyasa yoga, instructed by Di, only 2 times a week hosted at Suncoast Fitness in St. Petersburg, FL. It has helped build my strength, improve my flexibility, and ease my thoughts to a noticeable degree. As I move forward in this journey and look to the future, I’m planning on one day starting a YouTube channel and raising money to develop an app for TBI survivors. Like a life coach in a sense, and hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to teach survivors how to use it, or make it very simple and self-explanatory. It would also be nice to make hospitals aware of the app one day so they'll be able to reference it and help others who have been affected by brain injury. Lots of love, Christy Toledo Donate To My GoFundMe Project! https://www.gofundme.com/giving-her-all #SharingIsCaring

1 thought on “Boosting Your Memory: Tips That Really Work”

  1. Brain games are always a great way to keep your mind spry. I personally prefer Sudoku puzzles as they are logic based and force me to exercise parts of my brain I might otherwise not use frequently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

