Give Beating Depression A Try With These Tips

Give Beating Depression A Try With These Tips

Many new moms will have to deal with postpartum depression. This type of depression can plague new mommies. When hormones change, it can make depression happen in the postpartum part of pregnancy. The tips below will help you beat your depression.

Speaking with someone about your feelings is crucial if you suffer from depression. Whether it’s your therapist, psychiatrist, or someone in the family, you’re going to feel BETTER when you allow someone to know what’s on your mind when you’re having troubles.

If you work towards dealing with any personal problems you are experiencing, this could help with depression. You can avoid getting overwhelmed if you do this in BABY STEPS. Breaking them into smaller goals will help combat depression and will probably fix many of the problems that are at the root cause of the depression.

Understand the importance of taking good care of your body to keep depression from taking over. If you have some depression issues you may want to work out really quickly. STAYING AWAY from processed foods, engaging in daily exercise and sleeping for 8 hours each night may help to banish your depression.

If you feel depressed, meditation may help you overcome your symptoms. Scientific studies have determined that meditating can improve mood and prevent hypertension.

Your diet can affect your depression. Eating unhealthy foods can affect how clearly you think. Negative and cloudy thinking can lead to depression. Stay away from foods that are high in fat and try to keep a diet that is healthy.

BANISH the words “depressed” and “depression”. While depression is a tangible problem, the terminology that comes along with it can leave people feeling stigmatized and overwhelmed. The next time you feel down, think of your condition as “the blues” or “a low mood.” It’s not as difficult to think about changing your mood as it is to conquer “depression” even though the two things are really the same.

A very easy way to pick up your mood and kick depression is to put on a nice outfit. Put on your favorite outfit and go do something fun. Do not wait for special occasions or Sunday morning sermons to dress nicely, head on out just for the fun of it. Taking care of yourself and looking attractive will boost your self esteem, and push your depression aside.

Music can be great for dealing with depression, but be careful not to listen to the wrong kind. Don’t listen to music that require a lot of thought

AVOID caffeine, alcohol and other drugs when depressed. This is only going to worsen the condition. There are times when feeling like drinking or doing drugs can cause dependency.

If you are prescribed antidepressants by your doctor, always follow the instructions carefully. Taking more or less can really do harm to your body. You may need to slowly come off of anti-depressants when you are done.

Develop a fun hobby. A lot of people are depressed because they don’t find joy in the things they do. Having interests and activities that you find enjoyable are very important to your mental health and can raise your self-esteem as well as your happiness. Enjoyable activities deliver satisfaction and keep thoughts in the positive realm.

You need to stay away from substances with caffeine when your symptoms of depression worsen. Studies show too much caffeine makes depression symptoms worse. If you enjoy having a nice cup of coffee or a can of soda during the day, it might be best to switch to decaf.

Hang around positive people. It can be hard to stay depressed when you are spending time with people who are always positive. Positive people can even help you think more positive things.

Artificial sweeteners used in many soft drinks, as well as other foods, should be avoided if you are fighting depression. The sweetener interferes with your serotonin production, possibly leading to insomnia and headaches. As these two items can already be caused by depression, sweetener consumption should be AVOIDED. Try to remove sugars from your diet.

If you’re depressed, change the messages that you tell yourself. Instead of repeating negative thoughts, try to replace them with positive affirmations, even if they don’t seem authentic at first. After some time, your mind will automatically think of the positive thoughts you practice to replace your negative thinking.

If you are experiencing depression due to your relationship or job, it may be a good idea to MOVE ON. Do not allow fear to stop you. When you’re hurting due to your personal situations, you must make decisions that are in your best interests. It really can be that simple. Other people will just have to live with your decision.

When you are dealing with depression, it can be easy to pour out all of your emotional baggage onto family members and friends. This isn’t benefiting anyone. Try to focus on the positive when you talk to friends and family.

When you are depressed, the first thing you want to do is withdraw from your friends and family. This is not the things you should do! As you recover, it is crucial that you place yourself in the company of people who affect you in a positive way and engage in activities that you love.

Helping out others in need is a great way to take your mind off of your problems. When you help other people you are too busy focusing on them and what nice things you can do for that person. This will distract your mind from thinking negatively.

Yoga can help fight feelings of depression. It improves the health of your mind and body. It could prove to be quite a positive experience for your general psyche. Many poses are deceptively simple to perform. As you progress, more complexity can be added to the mix with your poses that will make it more challenging.

Depression is a problem that can affect many people. This is a serious medical condition that needs to be treated as soon as possible. Hopefully, you will put these tips into use right away.

#shareforshare #sharingiscaring #share4share #likeforlike #likeitdontleaveit #like4like #sharethelove #shares #share #shared #like #likes #like #sharethegoodness #sharealittlesunshine #sharelove #sharethisforawareness #like4follow #likeforfollow #likesforlikes #likes4likes #likes4love #recognitionisaresource

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

“The drive of a lifetime.”
100% of all proceeds go towards improving traumatic brain injury survivor’s rehabilitation and my passion for awareness.

via Blogger http://ift.tt/2mMkjlq

Author: Official Website of Christy Toledo

My accident happened on February 5th, 2012 after my bartending shift at the Blue Martini in Orlando, FL late one night. I was driving on my way to a friend’s house in Tampa, FL who I was temporarily staying with at the time. I was told that my car veered off the interstate and flipped five times, my body was found 50 feet from it. I’ve tried very hard to discover how my body made it that distance from the car, and who found me, but I still don’t know. The accident report didn’t say much. I received a phone call from a sergeant eventually who told me I was airlifted to Orlando Regional Medical Center unconscious when my trach and feeding tube were implanted, but they didn’t expect me to make it. I was in a coma for five to six weeks after my car accident. I woke up with a traumatic brain injury, liver laceration, lung confusion, subluxation to my neck, amnesia, epilepsy, a fractured lumbar spine, and a fractured pelvis with pins implanted. The pins were removed a few months later. Talk about a painful surgery. Healing is an ongoing process, but for me there are some specific things that have helped along the way: Keeping track of everything to care for my daily hygiene. Listing these things with a dry erase marker on my bathroom mirror used to help. Recognizing what I’m not supposed to say. Deciding what TO SAY, what NOT TO SAY, and WHEN to say WHAT. Isn’t easy to do and I still haven’t mastered it. There are things I’m supposed to talk only to certain people about, and some things I should keep to myself. When I’m being upfront and honest with someone, I can’t assume whatever I’m saying or doing is right, just because in my head, being truthful is “the way I’m supposed to be”. Believe it or not, oddly enough, that isn’t always the case! Learning how to RECOGNIZE which is which is vital. Don’t believe what everyone says. Do your own research. Discover your own truth. Know who I can talk to with the confidence that I'll be given honest feedback from them. What prescriptions must I take daily, how many times a day, how many pills in each dosage, and how to stay on a schedule with my doctors so I don’t run out of my medications. How to keep myself on track. I try and find simple ways to include all things I need to do, my appointments, yoga classes, homework, social life, fitness, etc. Figuring out the most effective ways that can progressively help manage my pain. A therapist is a must have. Someone I can tell everything to and have it kept confidential. I must constantly fight hard to make each of my days better. That’s the way it is. Accept it, don’t give up, and keep going. YouTube and the Word synonym tool are necessities I can’t live without. Keep the alcohol to a MINIMUM. If any, but not drinking AT ALL is the best-case scenario-by a long shot. I’ve been working on how to stop talking out loud as much while being overwhelmingly passionate about things. For me, moving forward is about resilience. Why? I’ve learned that being resilient to words people say about, to, and against me have subconsciously built up an ulterior strength within me. This strength is like a shield that gives me the power to just keep going. To be resilient means to keep moving forward despite having the odds stacked against me. Just to keep it moving and continue giving my all every single day, gripping onto the hope it’ll all make perfect sense at some point. How the next day and the day after that aren’t going to feel the same. Resilience has aided me in finding somewhere I can fit in, and enjoy what I’m doing. Also, being resilient in my situation has created the ability for me to have a positive impact on others. I'm not depressed anymore. I’m quite happy with myself at this point. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have a long list of goals I’m going to achieve, or die trying. Haha, that’s the fight in me talking out loud. Resilience has abetted me in accepting the new Christy you could say. Vinyasa yoga has helped improve my pain and flexibility a lot. I’m sure my sanity too. I haven’t tried much meditation yet, but I plan to, although I tried a breathing exercise on Kevin’s Instagram last night and loved it! I want to get good at it. I don’t know why, but when I start feeling fatigued or when I just want to write my mind on paper, sitting by the ocean really helps calm me. I think I’m a bit hyperactive, but I’ve noticed when I wake up and go straight to the gym, get on the treadmill at 3.4 speed and just go for an hour. It really helps motivate me about my day and somehow makes it easier for me to fall asleep when I hop into bed. I also take part in Vinyasa yoga, instructed by Di, only 2 times a week hosted at Suncoast Fitness in St. Petersburg, FL. It has helped build my strength, improve my flexibility, and ease my thoughts to a noticeable degree. As I move forward in this journey and look to the future, I’m planning on one day starting a YouTube channel and raising money to develop an app for TBI survivors. Like a life coach in a sense, and hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to teach survivors how to use it, or make it very simple and self-explanatory. It would also be nice to make hospitals aware of the app one day so they'll be able to reference it and help others who have been affected by brain injury. Lots of love, Christy Toledo Donate To My GoFundMe Project! https://www.gofundme.com/giving-her-all #SharingIsCaring

Leave a Reply

