THE DRIVE OF A LIFETIME.”    03/03/2017 10:53 pm ET | Updated May 13, 2017 11:l8 pm ET
By Christy Toledo
 By Christy Toledo
It is not possible to use a keyboard to find your missing memories. It
is common to forget certain things we learn. Read on for useful strategies to
improve your memory.

One easy
and effective way to help your memory is by writing things down. This
process increases the
flow of blood to the brain
, particularly the areas associated with memory,
and forces you to use
it
. Keep a notebook, a journal or write detailed lists to constantly help
your ability to remember items you may need in the future.

The phrase
“use it or lose it” applies to your memory. Make time to engage in
activities that need you to recall information, such as crossword puzzles,
learning a new skill or reading.

Social
activity can go a long way in keeping the vigor in your memory. This will keep
you spirits up and alert. If you are depressed or lonely, your mind is not
being stimulated and your brain cells aren’t getting a workout. Engaging in
spirited social outings with your friends and family can help you to keep an
acute mind.

When
learning a new concept, teaching
someone else the concept has proven
to be an effective way to improve your memory. The reason for this is that when
you teach someone else the concept, you must first understand it and then be
able to phrase it yourself.

Go to the
library and check out books written by experts in the field of memory
improvement
. There are many books available written by
psychiatrists that will give you helpful and professional
tips for improving brain function and overall memory.

If you are
a student trying to boost your memory for a test, the worst thing you can do is
cram. Attempting to learn so much in too little time will not allow you to keep
anything at all.

Increase
the dark leafy greens
 in your diet like spinach to help boost your memory power. They hold
important B vitamins and folic
acid, which have a huge job in taking
care of the neurons in your brain.

You can improve brain elasticity when you meditate therefore allowing your brain and its memory
to function at better rates. You will relieve stress from your body which
helps promote healthiness throughout your body. Go to a calm place, and focus
only on breathing slowly. Work at meditating for thirty
minutes a day at the minimum
to help keep your brain in shape.

Classical
music
 may improve your memory. Classical music is soft and soothing, and can
help relax both your body and
mind, thereby improving memory. Try playing
music while you relax in a bath, with lit candles to set the mood.

Saying what
you are trying to remember aloud
 is a fast and uncomplicated way to boost your
memory. Though it may feel silly at first, saying things aloud is an amazing
tool for memorization.

There is
evidence to suggest that fish
oil can improve your ability
to store and recall memories more effectively. You can improve your memory by
using fish oil, which holds Omega-3
fatty acids. Getting the
right dosage is important, so consult your doctor prior to taking this supplement.

By being consistent with your studying sessions, you can improve
the power of your memory. Taking breaks and staying consistent helps your mind keep
information better. Studying in intervals, instead of trying to cram everything
in at once, is a proven method of knowledge retention. Procrastination often
leads to cramming, so be sure to set a study schedule for yourself.

Keep your
social life active. It is proven that those with an active social life have a better memory. Thousands
of people swear by mnemonic devices as a means of improving memory. This
strategy works by creating an
association between a new piece of information and something
you already know. Mnemonic devices are fun, and they often use jokes, rhymes,
or songs to help improve your memory and take frustration out of the studying
process.

Try to study beyond what you really need
to know. You will remember something better if you have more than just a
rudimentary knowledge of it. For instance, when you need to remember a word
or definition, read a little more about it.

Feed your
brain
. Just like the body, the brain needs fuel. If you
are trying to commit valuable information to memory, such as test questions,
you should create an
organizational system that groups subjects together in a
logical fashion. Organizing information into related groupings can be a
more effective way to memorize it for later recall.

When
someone you know is
affected by memory loss, try to be very patient and understanding when you are with them.
Remember this is a difficult experience for them, and they need all the help they can get. If you are patient and understanding, you may be able to help
them. The best way to improve your memory is to have healthy habits, such as
eating nutritious foods, sleeping plentifully, and exercising.

Follow the
advice given in Christy’s blog, and make
an effort to help your memory
. If you have lots of information you must memorize, you should aim to
study this information at many
various places. Doing this will allow you to dissociate what you are learning
from where you are, making it easier to recall wherever you are. The more
places you study at, the more likely the information will go into your
long-term memory storage.

Be sure
that you are sleeping well each night. Studies have shown that sleep is
important to keep your memory in tiptop shape. If you cannot concentrate due to
poor sleep, committing learned facts to long-term memory will be difficult.
Memory loss can be tragic for the aging mind. Older people, especially those
with dementia or degenerative brain diseases, should take prescription
medication to help protect their brains from memory loss.

Say things aloud.
As soon as you learn something like a name, repeat it aloud. Repeating things
where you can hear it is a wonderful way to ensure that you remember that bit
of information at a later date. Whether you are by yourself or with others, do
not feel embarrassed, and say it a few times.

If you
would like to sharpen your memory, associate the things you want to
learn with concepts you are already familiar with. If you learn to tag new
pieces of short term memory information onto existing long-term memories, you
will have an easier time of recollection. You may even be able to accelerate
the rate at which you are able to commit other information to permanent memory.

Material is
memorized
better if you go over it many times during regular
study sessions. This gives your brain adequate time to process the information.
Start exercising regularly if you want to improve your memory. Exercising just
a little bit each day will improve your brain function.


1. What 3
things can you practice doing to prevent forgetfulness?
2. Have you
tried any of these before? If so, which one/s?
3. If yes
to #2, can you give an example of your results?
100% of all proceeds go towards improving traumatic brain injury
survivors’ rehabilitation and passion for awareness.

Let’s
Connect

 By Christy Toledo
MORE:
#shareforshare #sharingiscaring #share4share #likeforlike #likeitdontleaveit #like4like #sharethelove #shares #share #shared #like #likes #like #sharethegoodness #sharealittlesunshine #sharelove #sharethisforawareness #like4follow #likeforfollow #likesforlikes #likes4likes #likes4love #recognitionisaresource

via Blogger http://bit.ly/2rKBXHJ

Author: Official Website of Christy Toledo

My accident happened on February 5th, 2012 after my bartending shift at the Blue Martini in Orlando, FL late one night. I was driving on my way to a friend’s house in Tampa, FL who I was temporarily staying with at the time. I was told that my car veered off the interstate and flipped five times, my body was found 50 feet from it. I’ve tried very hard to discover how my body made it that distance from the car, and who found me, but I still don’t know. The accident report didn’t say much. I received a phone call from a sergeant eventually who told me I was airlifted to Orlando Regional Medical Center unconscious when my trach and feeding tube were implanted, but they didn’t expect me to make it. I was in a coma for five to six weeks after my car accident. I woke up with a traumatic brain injury, liver laceration, lung confusion, subluxation to my neck, amnesia, epilepsy, a fractured lumbar spine, and a fractured pelvis with pins implanted. The pins were removed a few months later. Talk about a painful surgery. Healing is an ongoing process, but for me there are some specific things that have helped along the way: Keeping track of everything to care for my daily hygiene. Listing these things with a dry erase marker on my bathroom mirror used to help. Recognizing what I’m not supposed to say. Deciding what TO SAY, what NOT TO SAY, and WHEN to say WHAT. Isn’t easy to do and I still haven’t mastered it. There are things I’m supposed to talk only to certain people about, and some things I should keep to myself. When I’m being upfront and honest with someone, I can’t assume whatever I’m saying or doing is right, just because in my head, being truthful is “the way I’m supposed to be”. Believe it or not, oddly enough, that isn’t always the case! Learning how to RECOGNIZE which is which is vital. Don’t believe what everyone says. Do your own research. Discover your own truth. Know who I can talk to with the confidence that I'll be given honest feedback from them. What prescriptions must I take daily, how many times a day, how many pills in each dosage, and how to stay on a schedule with my doctors so I don’t run out of my medications. How to keep myself on track. I try and find simple ways to include all things I need to do, my appointments, yoga classes, homework, social life, fitness, etc. Figuring out the most effective ways that can progressively help manage my pain. A therapist is a must have. Someone I can tell everything to and have it kept confidential. I must constantly fight hard to make each of my days better. That’s the way it is. Accept it, don’t give up, and keep going. YouTube and the Word synonym tool are necessities I can’t live without. Keep the alcohol to a MINIMUM. If any, but not drinking AT ALL is the best-case scenario-by a long shot. I’ve been working on how to stop talking out loud as much while being overwhelmingly passionate about things. For me, moving forward is about resilience. Why? I’ve learned that being resilient to words people say about, to, and against me have subconsciously built up an ulterior strength within me. This strength is like a shield that gives me the power to just keep going. To be resilient means to keep moving forward despite having the odds stacked against me. Just to keep it moving and continue giving my all every single day, gripping onto the hope it’ll all make perfect sense at some point. How the next day and the day after that aren’t going to feel the same. Resilience has aided me in finding somewhere I can fit in, and enjoy what I’m doing. Also, being resilient in my situation has created the ability for me to have a positive impact on others. I'm not depressed anymore. I’m quite happy with myself at this point. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have a long list of goals I’m going to achieve, or die trying. Haha, that’s the fight in me talking out loud. Resilience has abetted me in accepting the new Christy you could say. Vinyasa yoga has helped improve my pain and flexibility a lot. I’m sure my sanity too. I haven’t tried much meditation yet, but I plan to, although I tried a breathing exercise on Kevin’s Instagram last night and loved it! I want to get good at it. I don’t know why, but when I start feeling fatigued or when I just want to write my mind on paper, sitting by the ocean really helps calm me. I think I’m a bit hyperactive, but I’ve noticed when I wake up and go straight to the gym, get on the treadmill at 3.4 speed and just go for an hour. It really helps motivate me about my day and somehow makes it easier for me to fall asleep when I hop into bed. I also take part in Vinyasa yoga, instructed by Di, only 2 times a week hosted at Suncoast Fitness in St. Petersburg, FL. It has helped build my strength, improve my flexibility, and ease my thoughts to a noticeable degree. As I move forward in this journey and look to the future, I’m planning on one day starting a YouTube channel and raising money to develop an app for TBI survivors. Like a life coach in a sense, and hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to teach survivors how to use it, or make it very simple and self-explanatory. It would also be nice to make hospitals aware of the app one day so they'll be able to reference it and help others who have been affected by brain injury. Lots of love, Christy Toledo Donate To My GoFundMe Project! https://www.gofundme.com/giving-her-all #SharingIsCaring

Leave a Reply

